Author Entrepreneurship: Previous Topic Professional Organizer? Next Topic  

ChicChick
True Blue Farmgirl

64 Posts

Joy

64 Posts

Posted - Aug 23 2006 :  2:13:59 PM  Show Profile
Hi all,

I'm going though a career change (or mid-life crisis? I guess I'm a little too young for that!)

I've been working in Human Services for the past 7 years as a receptionist and then a case manager. I didn't enjoy either one very much.

I've been working with a career coach and have narrowed down my HUGE list of possible jobs I'm interested in, to three fields. One field is (still) helping people, but not in the same capacity I was previously.

I'm interested in professional organizing but live in a fairly rural area. I'm also interested in home decorating and wondered if I could combine the two.

Anyone here have experience with professional organizing, either working as, or having someone work with you?

My plan is to start off volunteering in this area (friends/family) and taking it from there. I'm just in the research stage right now, but would love any suggestions or sharing of your ideas.

Thanks!

Vist my shop at: http://chicchickbiz.etsy.com and my blog at www.chicchickbiz.blogspot.com

jpbluesky
True Blue Farmgirl

6066 Posts

Jeannie
Florida
USA
6066 Posts

Posted - Aug 23 2006 :  3:04:08 PM  Show Profile
I think professional organizing is a worthy and very much needed profession. Over 25 years ago, my friends told me I should start a business and call it Tidy Tilly's. I was always organizing the office shelves, the office kitchen, my home and everything I could get my hands on. I still do it! But at the time, the thought of professional organizing seemed so frivolous. Heck, anyone can organize, I thought to myself, and they will not pay me to do it. Well, apparently that is not true, and it is a true gift. Go for it, girl! The messy world needs you!

Peace
Go to Top of Page

DaisyFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

1646 Posts

Diane
Victoria BC
Canada
1646 Posts