texdane
Farmgirl Legend Chapter Leader Chapter Guru

4658 Posts

Nicole
Sandy Hook CT
USA
4658 Posts

Posted - Nov 15 2011 :  2:50:01 PM  Show Profile
After years of being the "crazy pet" lady BC (before child) I am down to one dog, and two cats, and now a fish. My daughter wants to make use of an unused betta tank (2.5 gallon) that can no longer house fish. The man at the pet store says it is fine for hermit crabs. My daughter got the idea from one of her friends who has them. I don't want my house smelling like animals (I love them...want them to be seen but not smelled). Is it true they are stinky? Does anyone else have them? I have no experience here.

Any help appreciated!

Farmgirl Sister #1155
KNITTER, JAM-MAKER AND MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE
Chapter Leader, Connecticut Simpler Life Sisters

Suburban Farmgirl Blogger
http://sfgblog.maryjanesfarm.org/

Sabrena Orr
True Blue Farmgirl

198 Posts

Sabrena
Olympia WA
USA
198 Posts

Posted - Nov 15 2011 :  2:53:24 PM  Show Profile
My daughter had hermit crabs for years. I don't think I ever "smelled" them and they were fun/entertaining to watch. Good luck!

Sabrena, Olympia
Go to Top of Page

msdoolittle
True Blue Farmgirl

1143 Posts

Amanda
East Texas
USA
1143 Posts

Posted - Nov 16 2011 :  11:36:35 AM  Show Profile
The food can be a bit stinky (since it has fish meal in it), but if you're only talking about one or 2 pellets, I don't see smell being an issue. Obviously, if you scoop any poo, it should stay smelling just fine. I had some for several years, too and don't remember smell being a problem. Just make sure you buy at least a pair. They do like company :0)

FarmGirl #1390
www.mylittlecountry.wordpress.com
Go to Top of Page

acairnsmom
True Blue Farmgirl

1319 Posts

audrey
cheyenne wy
1319 Posts

Posted - Nov 16 2011 :  2:23:51 PM  Show Profile