Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Across the Fence
 Smoke from Woodburning Stoves
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Across the Fence: Previous Topic Smoke from Woodburning Stoves Next Topic  

sondrak
Farmgirl in Training

33 Posts

Sondra
Colorado Springs CO
USA
33 Posts

Posted - Oct 27 2011 :  7:40:36 PM  Show Profile
Is it possible to start a fire in a woodburning stove without filling the room up with smoke at first? If so how?

I’m originally from a warm part of Texas. I have zero experience with wood burning stoves. I had always considered fireplaces as a decorative item. Not a source of heat. Now that I’m in Colorado, I have a new outlook on fireplaces and wood burning stoves. I’ve fallen in love with the wood burning stove that came with my house. Well, except for the smoke for the first 5 minutes or so when I light the fire.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

You can take the girl out of Texas, but you can't take the Texas out of the girl.

melody
True Blue Farmgirl

3319 Posts

Melody
The Great North Woods in the Land of Hiawatha
USA
3319 Posts

Posted - Oct 27 2011 :  8:02:04 PM  Show Profile
Geez...something up with the "damper?"

Melody
Farmgirl #525
Go to Top of Page

YakLady
True Blue Farmgirl

652 Posts

Natalie
Montana
USA
652 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2011 :  04:47:58 AM  Show Profile
Your stove shouldn't be smoking you out just because the door is open when you're first getting it going... I would check to make sure everything is cleaned properly (possibly professionally if you're very new to the wood stoves) and functional. Ours only gets it a little smokey in here when we run it open to warm the house up quick once it's going really hot. Wood stoves are dirty, but they shouldn't be *that* bad.

Good luck!

~Natalie~ Just a farmgirl in Western Montana. http://mtnme.blogspot.com