Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Across the Fence
 anyone do any historical reenacting ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Across the Fence: Previous Topic anyone do any historical reenacting ? Next Topic  

pnickols
True Blue Farmgirl

808 Posts

Patricia
Parma Ohio
808 Posts

Posted - Oct 21 2011 :  04:00:51 AM  Show Profile
ever since we went to the Civil War reenactment it's been buzzing about in my brain that I would like to try this and then I found websites of WWII re-enactors doing impressions of WAC, WAVE, etc. maybe cuz I'm studying History for my degree or what but I think it looks like a fun, cool thing to do. not sure how it would go over with my DH but just wondered if anyone else has that interest

beekeepersgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

1423 Posts

Luanne
Cresco PA
USA
1423 Posts

Posted - Oct 21 2011 :  04:32:13 AM  Show Profile
We do reenactment of a sort - not military. We work with a group that puts on a farm show, ice harvest, etc. depicting what farm and country life was back at the turn of the century. We wear period costumes as much as possible and try to stay "in character" as we talk to visitors. We really enjoy it. Sometimes I think I was born in the wrong era (or may reincarnated???)!!!!

Luanne

beekeepersgirl #691

Pleasant words are as an honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.
Go to Top of Page

sherone_13
True Blue Farmgirl

2460 Posts

Sherone
Evanston WY
USA
2460 Posts

Posted - Oct 21 2011 :  07:55:45 AM  Show Profile
We do reenactments of Pre-1840 Mountain Man Rendezvous. It's a lot of fun and is a great place to take our kids. My husband has a serious canvas addition. We have a tepee, baker wall tent, one-pull tent and a large and small dining fly. I have also worked at the Fort Bridger State Historic Site where we did third person living history for the Military period from 1860 to 1890. That was the funnest job I have ever had.

Sherone