Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Tomato free recipes Next Topic  

HollyG
True Blue Farmgirl

214 Posts

Holly
Hamburg Arkansas
USA
214 Posts

Posted - Jul 27 2011 :  7:30:22 PM  Show Profile  Click to see HollyG's MSN Messenger address
I have discovered that tomatoes are a trigger food for my rosacea. Good to know, except I eat something tomato based at every meal. Heck, I've been known to put salsa on eggs. We eat a lot of Tex-Mex and tomato based casseroles...from spaghetti to the old-time porcupine meatballs. I'll starve this winter without my soups and chili. Just to thicken the plot, we rarely eat potatoes (do .pw-carb for health reasons) and I cannot physically tolerate corn at all. So. Aren't I the lucky one?

Now. Can you remind me of some recipes that don't involve tomatoes particularly? I'm a scratch cook that prepares at least one big meal a day. I know how to cook, but like everyone, we sometimes get in a rut and have the same thongs over and over. Ideas, modifications, suggestions...all will be appreciated. My goal is to get my skin under control, the reintroduce very slowly to see of I have any tolerance at all. But until then, I need some recommendations.

HollyG
Farmgirl #2513
www.mydeepwoodslife.com

MagnoliaWhisper
True Blue Farmgirl

2817 Posts

Heather
Haysville Kansas
USA
2817 Posts

Posted - Jul 27 2011 :  7:49:40 PM  Show Profile
Adding the low carb into the mix will be harder for sure.

But, there is white chili's out there you may want to consider-usually using chicken or turkey and white beans, no tomatoes.

You can also make fruit based salsa's. (I love salsa!) And maybe more gaucamole for the tex mex foods. (I know most people do put tomatoes in gauc too but you can leave it out and probably be fine). Peaches are the fruit my family likes best for salsa. Some people like mango a lot too. I wonder if you can have tomatillos? (sp) Or maybe low acid tomatoes like the yellow ones?