Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic paw licking Next Topic  

pnickols
True Blue Farmgirl

808 Posts

Patricia
Parma Ohio
808 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2011 :  07:15:22 AM  Show Profile
I have a dashund mix who since we moved from the apartment to the house has taken to licking her front paws, some days a lot, the vet says she has an allergy and to give her Benadryl. I do but it doesn't seem to help all that much. I am not a doggy expert and I wondered if maybe some of you with more doggy experience would have any suggestions. I'm concerned that now it might be just a habit with her.

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2011 :  07:52:02 AM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
I would check between her paws to see if the skin is raw. She might have a hot spot. Did you have the carpets cleaned after you moved it? She may be allergic to a cleaning chemical that was used prior to move in. If this is the case the allergy would just keep aggravating her skin unless rinsed or re-cleaned. Also if the allergy has made her skin sore it might take as long as 2 weeks on a solid benedryl routine to help her skin heal.

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com
www.allergyjourneys.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

Ninibini
True Blue Farmgirl

7577 Posts

Nini
Pennsylvania
USA
7577 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2011 :  08:02:54 AM  Show Profile