sherrye
True Blue Farmgirl

3775 Posts

sherry
bend in the high desert oregon
USA
3775 Posts

Posted - Feb 23 2011 :  10:01:48 AM  Show Profile
well it is huge. it is now worse since we had vet cut it off. it is a heifer calf it is on her side big as a fist but flat out and corded. AWEFUL.i hate it. what can i do. they say its auto immune function. she was shorted minerals last spring. cows were not here so minerals were not kept plentiful. she does now and the vet. its bigger. ruins her looks totally. she is a milker belted cross with dexter white park. any ideas i am just learning this one. thanks happy days sherrye

the learn as we go silk purse farm
farm girl #1014

windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4267 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4267 Posts

Posted - Feb 24 2011 :  04:15:37 AM  Show Profile
You can cut off warts, you can try treating them, but they almost always go away. It seems at a certain age they will come down with them. They have them for a while, and finally they will fall off. There is a vaccine for warts, but never tried it.
We have used blueing, when cows get them on their teats. It works well.

Michele
Go to Top of Page

sherrye
True Blue Farmgirl

3775 Posts

sherry
USA
3775 Posts

Posted - Feb 24 2011 :  06:49:57 AM  Show Profile
hi michele, thanks for the reply it is a HUGE wart with thread like roots that are thick and cord like. i read on line last night more about them. i have blueing in the laundry. do i just rub it on there? thanks sherrye

farm girl #1014
Go to Top of Page

traildancer
True Blue Farmgirl

485 Posts

Loyce
Glide OR
USA
485 Posts

Posted - Feb 24 2011 :  09:44:59 AM  Show Profile
Hi, sherrye. Bummer about your cow. I'm sure that she is lovely otherwise.

Not the same species, but several years ago my horse got warts near his nostril. I thought they were ugly. Probably no one else noticed them because they were dark grey and his nose is black. Eventually they just went away. I can't remember how long it took.