Greenwoman
True Blue Farmgirl

55 Posts

Michelle
Oregon
USA
55 Posts

Posted - Feb 21 2011 :  09:26:32 AM  Show Profile
Hello! We are all reading the book Radical Homemakers: Reclaiming Domesticity from a Consumer Culture by Shannon Hayes. The plan is to discuss one chapter per week, starting today, February 21.

Of course this week we're including the preface with Chapter 1, because the preface is short but thought provoking (in my opinion).

So, I've never done an on line reading group before, but I guess we begin with thoughts on the chapter, and any bits that really stood out for us? I'll post some of my thoughts in later posts, but I wanted to open up the floor so we can get started.

So, Preface and Chapter 1--what did y'all think?

Michelle
http://greenwoman.wordpress.com

FieldsofThyme
Farmgirl Guide & Schoolmarm / Chapter Leader

4928 Posts

USA
4928 Posts

Posted - Feb 21 2011 :  09:56:33 AM  Show Profile
I love your idea, but don't have the book. I still have one on request at the library.

Farmgirl #800
http://momzonetakingtimeformom.blogspot.com/

http://scrapreusedandrecycledartprojects.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

Greenwoman
True Blue Farmgirl

55 Posts

Michelle
Oregon
USA
55 Posts

Posted - Feb 21 2011 :  09:57:49 AM  Show Profile
Well Kristina, when you DO get it maybe you'll be able to jump in! Hopefully you won't have to wait too much longer.

Michelle
Go to Top of Page

FieldsofThyme
Farmgirl Guide & Schoolmarm / Chapter Leader

4928 Posts

USA
4928 Posts

Posted - Feb 22 2011 :  05:25:36 AM  Show Profile
I'm thinking it won't be for months. That's okay too.

Farmgirl #800
http://momzonetakingtimeformom.blogspot.com/

http://scrapreusedandrecycledartprojects.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

Catherine L
True Blue Farmgirl

408 Posts

Cathy
Newton Texas
USA
408 Posts

Posted - Feb 23 2011 :  11:51:36 AM  Show Profile