Colleen Easlon
Farmgirl in Training

49 Posts

Colleen
Port Orford OR
USA
49 Posts

Posted - Dec 02 2010 :  10:12:49 PM  Show Profile
Hello, I am new to Farmgirl, and love the site. Does anyone know if there is any information regarding actual, self sustaining homesteads? Am interested in reading about them.

Mama Jewel
True Blue Farmgirl

435 Posts

Jewel
Sweet Peas Farmette, Bend, OR
USA
435 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2010 :  1:36:40 PM  Show Profile
Hi Colleen! Welcome to MJF's site. You'll love it here. All these Farm gals are *fantastic* & have a lot of great info to share about homesteading. There's a lot of info in MaryJane's Idea book and outdoor living book that have lots of useful information for doing your homestead. As for someone running a self-sustaining homestead, look into the book, Made From Scratch by Jenna Wolginrich (I think she's a farm girl on this board, too) and she has a blog as well, about her adventures as a homesteader. I hope that helps!

Farm Girl Sister #1683 Living Simply & Naturally on our lil Sweet Peas Farmette
"Do Everything in Love." 1 Cor 14
http://www.piecemama.etsy.com
Go to Top of Page

Lessie Louise
True Blue Farmgirl

1406 Posts

Carol
PECULIAR MO
USA
1406 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2010 :  2:16:08 PM  Show Profile
The Foxfire series are good too

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is not putting them in a fruit salad!
Farmgirl #680!
Go to Top of Page

lovingewe
True Blue Farmgirl

212 Posts

marlyn-neleh
norwood Ontario
Canada
212 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2010 :  5:24:36 PM  Show Profile
My favourite book is called Homesteading by John Vivian. It is from the 60's or 70's, but goes through a lot of deep Homesteading, live off the land from his experiences with his family.

http://www.heritagefarmgirl.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

dandelionhouse
True Blue Farmgirl

205 Posts

Debbie
Plymouth Mass
USA
205 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2010 :  5:59:08 PM  Show Profile