Mama Jewel
True Blue Farmgirl

435 Posts

Jewel
Sweet Peas Farmette, Bend, OR
USA
435 Posts

Posted - Nov 29 2010 :  11:09:36 PM  Show Profile
I'm taking some online classes this winter in pressure canning --whoo hoo!! Can you farm gals give me a recommendation of size and type of pressure canner you would recommend. I would like to hear about the good, the bad & the ugly

I'm just starting out and realistically, I see canning my garden's veggies, fruits, tomato sauce, stuff like that. I won't be doing any meats. May try my hand at some veggie soups. Don't know if I should start with a small capacity one like a 16 qt or more of a med size one of 21 qt. I've been up late researching online and getting overwhelmed & confused, so am coming to you gals for some hands-on advice.

Farm Girl Sister #1683 Living Simply & Naturally on our lil Sweet Peas Farmette
"Do Everything in Love." 1 Cor 14
http://www.piecemama.etsy.com

Okie Farm Girl
True Blue Farmgirl

1674 Posts

Mary Beth
McLoud Oklahoma
USA
1674 Posts

Posted - Nov 30 2010 :  04:35:44 AM  Show Profile
I have a Mirro-Matic that I simply love. I has nothing but a weight that is round and has 5-10-15 on it and you just turn the weight to the pressure that you want to keep. No gauges to have checked each year. It is a smaller 12 qt canner, but I have canned thousands of jars of soups, beef stew, corn, beans, chicken and even rump roasts. I wouldn't trade if for anything! I think we women have a love affair with our canners.

Mary Beth

www.OklahomaPastryCloth.com

The Sovereign Lord is my strength - Habakkuk 3:19
Go to Top of Page

sherrye
True Blue Farmgirl

3775 Posts

sherry
bend in the high desert oregon
USA
3775 Posts

Posted - Nov 30 2010 :  06:30:27 AM  Show Profile