Mamarude
True Blue Farmgirl

107 Posts

Anna
Durango Colorado
USA
107 Posts

Posted - Sep 02 2010 :  6:35:26 PM  Show Profile
Anyone here with Celiac? I'm newly diagnosed, and while I'm glad to finally know the problem, (after 4 years!) I'm feeling a little overwhelmed. It's hard to change a lifestyle, we eat whole wheat everything and I've been making bread for my family for 14 years!

Anna

laurentany
True Blue Farmgirl

3259 Posts

Laurie
Patchogue NY
USA
3259 Posts

Posted - Sep 02 2010 :  7:46:41 PM  Show Profile
Hi Anna-
My MIL has celiac Sprue for the past 20 plus years! It was unheard of when she was first diagnosed.
Of course from now on everything you eat will need to be gluten free. My mother in law used to use a mail order for alot of her mixes etc called "Miss Robins". We are fortunate (or unfortunate depending on how you look at it) to live near Stop and Shop grocery stores- nowadays many stores actually carry gluten free products. Lots of rice pastas and bread mixes etc. I will get some of the brands that my mother in law has found to taste the best and let you know. After all these years she has just about tried them all and has her favorites. Good Luck- it is a big adjustment for sure- but as you said at least now you know what you are up against!
Smiles,
Laurie
Farmgirl Sister#1403

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away..
Go to Top of Page

Montrose Girl
Farmgirl Legend/Schoolmarm

1360 Posts

Laurie
Montrose CO
1360 Posts

Posted - Sep 03 2010 :  7:32:48 PM  Show Profile