Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 Using honey buns for quilting?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Using honey buns for quilting? Next Topic  

CherryPie
True Blue Farmgirl

935 Posts

Kimberly Ann
Puyallup WA
USA
935 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2010 :  10:46:51 AM  Show Profile
I'm new at quilting and not sure I have the precision yet for making strips of exactly 1 1/2 inches wide for a fence rail quilt I want to make for Christmas. Has anyone used the "honey buns" rolls that are 1.5" x 44"? I thought they might get me started off on the right foot.

Kimberly Ann
Farmgirl Sister #225
Craft Zealot,
Newbie Fiddler, Backyard Chicken Rancher

karla
True Blue Farmgirl

1308 Posts

karla
Pella Iowa
USA
1308 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2010 :  11:07:33 AM  Show Profile
They say they are great! I haven't used them but it sure would save you time!!

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

http://rua2j-grammysheirlooms.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

gramadinah
True Blue Farmgirl

3557 Posts

Diana
Orofino ID
USA
3557 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2010 :  7:06:22 PM  Show Profile
I think that would be a great way to start I have used the charm squares in a lot of quilts. But with a mat and a wheel cuter and a good plastic ruler you can do it just fine.
With a split rail fence you usually use 8 colors of fabric and with the honey buns I think you would have at least 20 different fabrics.

Diana

Farmgirl Sister #273
Go to Top of Page

Bonnie Ellis
True Blue Farmgirl

2474 Posts

Bonnie
Minneapolis Minnesota
USA
2474 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2010 :  12:08:58 AM  Show Profile
Honeubuns are great! I love the pre-cut strips. Right now I am making a purse. Great for all kinds of quilts too. Happy Quilting. Bonnie

grandmother and orphan farmgirl
Go to Top of Page

Singing Tree Farm
True Blue Farmgirl

196 Posts

Cari