Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 looking for a recipe for blueberry jam
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic looking for a recipe for blueberry jam Next Topic  

blackantsnpeonys
True Blue Farmgirl

151 Posts

Denise
Hinckley Illinois
USA
151 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2010 :  9:44:25 PM  Show Profile
I am new at making anything like jam. Does anyone have a blueberry jam recipe? We pick blueberries every summer. This year I am determined to make jam. I would appreciate any recipes you may have. Thank you my farmgirl friends, Denise

Appreciate the little things, for they are not really that little.

JenniferJuniper
True Blue Farmgirl

359 Posts

Jennifer
New Hampshire
USA
359 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2010 :  06:27:30 AM  Show Profile
I strongly recommend getting the Ball Blue Book (big hardcover one, aka Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving) for all things canning. It has been the go-to canning book for decades. Either check it out from your library, or if you plan to get into canning it will be worth every dime of the $30 retail price at the bookstore. They have a great recipe for Blueberry Lime Jam, plus one called Blueberry Bonanza in which you make both blueberry syrup and blueberry butter in the same batch. There is a smaller paperback version by Ball that sells at grocery/big box stores for about $7 but I'm not sure if it has those recipes in it. Also, remember when you buy powdered or liquid pectin, there is a how-to sheet inside with jam/jelly recipes. You just need the pectin, fruit, sugar, and (usually) bottled lemon juice. That's it!

Farmgirl Sister #204

Edited by - JenniferJuniper on Jul 14 2010 06:29:04 AM
Go to Top of Page

FebruaryViolet
True Blue Farmgirl

4810 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4810 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2010 :  06:31:53 AM  Show Profile
I usually just use the recipe off the pectin box...have never had anyone complain :)