Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Cleaning Up
 Clothes Line Issues! Please Help!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Cleaning Up: Previous Topic Clothes Line Issues! Please Help! Next Topic  

natesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

1735 Posts

angela
martinsville indiana
USA
1735 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2010 :  11:24:45 AM  Show Profile
I am new to hanging my clothes on a clothes line. As a child my mother did for years, but she seemed to have different results than I am getting. My clothes are coming off the line hard. At first they were litterally crunchy! I called our water softener company and they said I was supposed to be using half the detergent suggested on the bottle. Years of wasted detergent! Ugh! I cut down the detergent and that helped a good bit. They are still stiff though. Am I using too much softener? Too little? Is it still too much detergent? The clothes look clean and smell nice, but they are not that great to wear. Am I just being a dryer diva?

Farmgirl Sister #1438

God - Gardening - Family - Is anything else important?

Sara317
Farmgirl in Training

22 Posts

Sara
Munroe Falls Ohio
22 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2010 :  3:22:13 PM  Show Profile
I had that problem too for awhile. I started using the downy ball for a softener and that really helped! Another goof was I was using a great smelling detergent in the downy ball instead of softener. What a dupe!!!
Go to Top of Page

nubidane
True Blue Farmgirl

2873 Posts

Lisa
Georgetown OH
2873 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2010 :  4:01:39 PM  Show Profile
Use vinegar in the downy ball, homemade detergetn, & if they are still crunchy. Just shake them. My clothes are soft off of the line. I give the towels a good snap or 2 & they are fine.
Go to Top of Page

windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4178 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4178 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2010 :  4:45:52 PM  Show Profile
Having some wind to dry in makes them alot softer too.

Michele