texdane
Farmgirl Legend Chapter Leader Chapter Guru

4658 Posts

Nicole
Sandy Hook CT
USA
4658 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2010 :  06:24:47 AM  Show Profile
Ok.. I am new to making bread from scratch. After searching through many recipes, I settled on a honey wheat one. Made it twice. What causes a bread not to rise much? I made the recipe verbatom, twice. I put in the proper yeast, and let it rise for one hour like the recipe says. Looks good at that point. Then it says punch it down and put in two loaf pans and let rise another hour. The bread is good, but very dense and doesn't look like it doubles. Should I try to just bake it after the first rising, in one big loaf? Could it just be that that is how the recipe is or am I doing something wrong? Anyone have a simple wheat recipe for a beginner?

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Nicole

Farmgirl Sister #1155
KNITTER, JAM-MAKER AND MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE

Rea231
True Blue Farmgirl

139 Posts

139 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2010 :  06:45:00 AM  Show Profile
You have to let it raise twice...What is the ratio of white to wheat flour you are using? Sometimes if you suplement some of the white for wheat it may help. Possibly too much flour entirely.

The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery.
Go to Top of Page

karla
True Blue Farmgirl

1308 Posts

karla
Pella Iowa
USA
1308 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2010 :  06:54:27 AM  Show Profile
Sometimes it may have to rise longer than the hour-it depends on how warm your area is?!? If your kitchen is cool it will take longer. Whole wheat is more dense than white flour & so it won't be like "Wonder" bread. I will check at home & find you a good wheat recipe-I have one that I use to sell & everyone loved it. You also have to make sure that you don't kill the yeast with water that is too hot. It doesn't sound like this is what happened but that will also keep it from rising.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
Go to Top of Page

N@n