Author Across the Fence: Previous Topic Lessons in Hankies Next Topic  

birdie71
True Blue Farmgirl

254 Posts

Robin
Glendale Arizona
USA
254 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  2:02:27 PM  Show Profile  Send birdie71 a Yahoo! Message
I am a first grade teacher in the middle of Phoenix. My class consists of mostly Hispanics. I would also say that most of these kids have not much of a clue about farm life or even old fashioned things. I wear a waist apron (ones hand crafted by my mom and that match my outfit for the day) everyday and this last week I decided to quit using kleenix and start using hankies. Everyday I put a clean hankie in my apron and then at the end of the day, put it in the laundry with my clothes. One day this week, my kids inquired about the corner of something sticking out of my apron. I don't remember what they called it but it was a wonderful time to have a lesson. I taught them what hankies were for...course, this was an easy lesson because we are already recycling and making choices in our classroom to preserve our earth. It was a precious time!

Robin
Farmgirl #1301
Farming in the Sonoran Desert? Hmmm?!

Karrieann
True Blue Farmgirl

1900 Posts

Karrieann
Northeast Georgia
USA
1900 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  2:04:30 PM  Show Profile
awwwe! what a wonderful lesson!

Karrieann ~ Farmgirl Sister #766 (29 Sept 2009)

My Blog: ...following my heart, dreams and Jesus
...http://karrieann-followingmyheartandjesus.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

RaspberryBee
True Blue Farmgirl

291 Posts

Karen
Montrose Michigan
USA
291 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  5:25:17 PM  Show Profile
I love this little story. Thanks for sharing Robin :-)

I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.
-Henry David Thoreau-
Go to Top of Page

classygram
True Blue Farmgirl

1812 Posts

Brenda
Pleasant Hill Mo.
USA
1812 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  5:45:16 PM  Show Profile