asnedecor
True Blue Farmgirl

1054 Posts

Anne
Portland Or
USA
1054 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  11:56:52 AM  Show Profile
Here's a question for all of you that have Face Book pages - when you add a friend do you send a message with the request? Especially if it is not a person you have spoken to in quite sometime - maybe years? Also do you just accept a friend request when one is sent only by the familiarity of the name?

I am still new to Face Book - but have taken the approach of sending a brief message to the individual re-introducing myself when asking for a friend request. I also don't just accept just anyone to my page because the name is familiar.

I have noticed since I hooked up on FB, that I have been able to connect with some very old high school friends, but only those that I had a friendship with. I have gotten requests from people I barely knew then and don't even know now and have ignored those requests.

I thought the point of facebook is to connect with friends and relatives, co-workers and re-connect with old friends, not to see who can accumulate the most connections.

I recently got a request from a person from High School that was not my friend - in fact she was kinda ##tch to me when we went to school. Why on earth would I want her in my adult life - go figure.

That is what got me to thinking how do others use the FB website.

Just some thoughts.

Anne in Portland, OR

"Weeds are flowers too, once you get to know them" Eyeore from Winnie the Pooh

birdie71
True Blue Farmgirl

254 Posts

Robin
Glendale Arizona
USA
254 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2010 :  12:45:02 PM  Show Profile  Send birdie71 a Yahoo! Message
Anne,