Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Family Matters
 What to bring to the hospital for a birth...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Family Matters: Previous Topic What to bring to the hospital for a birth... Next Topic  

walkinwalkoutcattle
True Blue Farmgirl

1675 Posts

Megan
Paint Lick KY
USA
1675 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2010 :  10:07:46 AM  Show Profile
So, I've been appointed as the winggirl for my friends baby's birth. She's going to be induced tomorrow, and her sister popped yesterday, and obviously won't be able to make it.

What should I bring? I think magazines, camera of COURSE, and maybe some snacks-I've never done this before! Help!

Starbucks and sushi to green fried tomatoes and corn pudding-I wouldn't change it for the world.
www.cattleandcupcakes.blogspot.com

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2010 :  10:49:06 AM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
During labor she won't be able to eat much if anything (eating can make you vomit) so maybe some juice or jello cups though most hopitals provide that via a "nourishment" room in the birthing area that anyone can go and get things from.

If she is uncomfortable in the hospital gowns (I was) bring her a men's tee shirt oversized or something like that which she can wear. They usually cooperate as long as you say it is okay to be cut off in emergencies. Lets see- Vitamin E oil for the sore areas after the birth- It made me heal about 2x as fast the doctor said. And also some clean cushy socks!! Your feet get COLD! She might also like her own pillow.

Also it is nice to make sure the baby has a nice going home/picture taking outfit. Along with a blanket for baby. That's all I can think of off the top of my head.

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.awarmheart.com
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com