karla
True Blue Farmgirl

1308 Posts

karla
Pella Iowa
USA
1308 Posts

Posted - Mar 12 2010 :  10:38:51 AM  Show Profile
Knitting-yes! I can remember when they said Grandma's skills were a dying art but boy were they mistaken! I taught my son & daughter how to knit. My daughter still does it but my son won't admit that he ever picked up needles-doesn't think it is macho enough!!!

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
Go to Top of Page

jclambert
True Blue Farmgirl

149 Posts

Judy
Stringtown Oklahoma
USA
149 Posts

Posted - Mar 12 2010 :  12:24:31 PM  Show Profile
I love to knit but I'm self taught and not really great at it. As long as I keep it simple it works out and I have fun, which is the important thing for me. Thank goodness for patterns that look complicated but are really easy. My favorite things to make are baby blankets and scarfs and I'm working on the wrap that was in the MJF magazine a couple of months ago.

Judy

*Love one another*
Go to Top of Page

StarMeadow
True Blue Farmgirl

940 Posts

T
MI
940 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2010 :  08:13:31 AM  Show Profile
Hey all you Sock Mavens out there...I just got this great new book last night. It's called "Socks a la Carte". It's a flip book! Remember those books we had as kids...well some of us...LOL Anyway, the kind with the pages split into three... I remember dolls, monsters, animals. You could change the pic by change each of the pages. Same idea. There's a cuff, body, and foot of the sock in the split pages with instructions for each "set" (17 cuffs, 20 bodies, 18 feet) in the beginning of the book. Then at the very back there is a gallary of 20 different socks in a variety of Tofutsies colors.

Some of you may have this book already. The coolest thing? I got it in the used section of my bookstore for only 8$ (orig $23).

Lucky for me I have a huge tote bag with sock yarn just waiting to be stitched!!!
Go to Top of Page

bdhughes77
True Blue Farmgirl

126 Posts

Debbie