Farmgirl at Heart

3 Posts

Maggie
Laval Quebec
Canada
3 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2004 :  2:21:04 PM  Show Profile
Hello everybody!
My name is Marguerite but just call me Maggie. I am from Quebec Canada. We are a french family but bilingual. I am new at this but having read a lot of posts I am sure that I will find new ideas and I hope I'll be able to share some of mine too. We are trying to be the most self reliant that we can in my household. Unfortunately, we live in town but we hope that as soon as our youngest is finished school that we will be able to move out of here on a small land. I am hoping to be able to grow my own vegetables. My hubby is very good at finding old machines like lawnmowers and barbecues for example and fix them up. Our nextdoor neighbor thought this spring that we had a new bbq! When I told her that Paul had find it in the trash, took it home, painted it and replaced the grill for a mere 6$ she couldn't believe it. I was glad because the only thing wrong with it was a spider web in the gas hose blocking it. Our bbq works and look like new. Another thing that won't be in our dumps! I sew, embroider, knit, paint and do most of everything we need. My french mother as shown me a lot of the basics and I am trying to do the same with Anne-Marie, my daughter. I find it important to be able to provide with what we need ourselves.
Glad to be part of the team and look forward to learn new things and share too.
A la prochaine, Au revoir, Maggie

Be real and simplify!

jpbluesky
True Blue Farmgirl

6066 Posts

Jeannie
Florida
USA
6066 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2004 :  3:49:12 PM  Show Profile
Maggie, you sound like a treasure among us! Welcome! We Americans often forget that Canadians possess the same pioneer spirit that we do. I look forward to hearing about your life in Quebec. And I also anticipate we will learn a lot from you!

I know so little about Canada, but we love you as a sister country so much! Educate us!

jpbluesky