EastTXFarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

731 Posts

Victoria
Farmgirl #549 TX
USA
731 Posts

Posted - Oct 07 2009 :  8:35:00 PM  Show Profile
I am new to the sewing scene but am quite pleased with my progress. I have joined in on a couple of the charm swaps and I know there has got to be an easier way to cut out the different sized charms. The christmas swap is for 5" charms. I have not found a 5" cutting board so I am using the large 12"X12" guide and cutting down. I am finding it very time consuming. I purchased a rotary cutter but they seem to dull very quickly. The first 10 charms I cut were fairly easy but now the blade does not cut completely thru the fabric and I am having to go over it several times. If I use scissors the edges look choppy. Any suggestions??

Begin each morning with a song in your heart.

cinnamongirl
True Blue Farmgirl

1682 Posts

Carrie

Canada
1682 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2009 :  08:15:57 AM  Show Profile
You can buy packs of charms. Your cutting board should't matter are you using a ruler as that is where you measure 5"X5" and sometimes you do have to go over the cuts a few times especially if you are cutting through lots of layers. Hope that helps.

http://cinnamongirlsthreads.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

Ms.Lilly
True Blue Farmgirl

826 Posts

Lillian
Scotts Mills OR
USA
826 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2009 :  08:50:31 AM  Show Profile
Invest in a clear long gridded quilting ruler. They are usally about 6 inches by 24 inches. With this you will be able to cut your material into 5 inch strips. Once you have the 5 inch strips you can then use the ruler to cut into the 5 inch blocks. Please remember that your rotary cutter is still very sharp even though it does not always cut through the material in one swipe. I know this from experience and the first time you let your guard down you will too.

Lillian
Go to Top of Page

Merry
True Blue Farmgirl

765 Posts

Merry
Ankeny Iowa
USA
765 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2009 :  12:08:29 PM  Show Profile