FL_farmgirl
Farmgirl in Training

17 Posts

Jen
Florida
USA
17 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2009 :  05:29:22 AM  Show Profile
OK, I did my due diligent search, and can't see where this was brought up elsewhere...if it was, someone please point me in that direction...looking through all these posts can be a little daunting.

This is my first year bringing up chicks from "scratch" (pardon the pun). They should begin laying any time now (some of their sisters who live w/ my MIL are already laying the cutest little eggs). I had to close their nest boxes up while they were growing because they would roost in them (hens, rooster and all). I have reopened the boxes, but now they won't go anywhere near them. I have tried to lay them in there to introduce them, but they just hop right out. Is this just because they aren't ready to lay, or did having the boxes covered discourage them from sitting in there? Will I find my eggs on the ground? If so, can I do anything to encourage them to use the boxes?

Probably a lot of worry over nothing, but like I said, I've always gotten hens that were already laying...

Thanks ladies :)
Jen

southerncrossgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

631 Posts

Gena
Harmony NC
USA
631 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2009 :  06:03:35 AM  Show Profile
Jen, I wouldn't worry about it yet. My hens only go in their nests when they are about to lay an egg. Just wait and see if they lay in their nests when they are old enough. If they don't at that time, I am sure you will gets lots of advice on what to do next. I bet they will lay in the nest. Be sure to keep some sort of bedding in the nest. I use straw.

"A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes"==Cinderella
Go to Top of Page

Ms.Lilly
True Blue Farmgirl

826 Posts

Lillian
Scotts Mills OR
USA
826 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2009 :  06:07:14 AM  Show Profile