Author A Farm of My Own: Previous Topic new to the farm life Next Topic  

Claude09647
True Blue Farmgirl

761 Posts

Claudia
Our Dairy Farm Pennsylvania
USA
761 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2009 :  12:49:50 PM  Show Profile  Send Claude09647 an AOL message
I'm new to the farm life and was wondering some things. My boyfriend. (soon to be husband) will inherit the farm when his parents pass. (they own and run a 150 cow dairy farm) That will not be for many years because they are still rather young themselves (about in their early 50's). I know its many years down the road until that happens but i am wondering what will all happen when this does happpen? Has this ever happened to anyone? If it has, please share your stories! Thanks

"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door."

chaddsgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

843 Posts

Sarah
Farmgirl Sisterhood #639 MO
USA
843 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2009 :  1:35:25 PM  Show Profile
Hmmmm, I'm not sure exactly what you mean. Do you mean what will happen leagally?

My husband will inherit 1/2 of his family's farm when his father passes away. Women on the farm have no claim to the land including his sisters and female cousins. For instance, if something happens to my husband (god forbid) and we have no son, his portion of the farm passes to his male cousin.

Farmgirl # 639
Go to Top of Page

Claude09647
True Blue Farmgirl

761 Posts

Claudia
USA
761 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2009 :  2:56:17 PM  Show Profile  Send Claude09647 an AOL message
i guess what i am trying to ask or say is does anyone know the stresses with running a farm,it just being you and your husband? like what do i have to look forward to and what do i have coming that i am not going to be looking forward to? Any comments would help

Go to Top of Page

1badmamawolf
True Blue Farmgirl

2199 Posts

Teresa
"Bent Fence Farms" Ca
USA
2199 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2009 :  4:40:11 PM  Show Profile