Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Yay! I canned string beans! Next Topic  

Hosanna
True Blue Farmgirl

466 Posts

Hosanna
Alton Virginia
466 Posts

Posted - Jul 06 2009 :  5:00:24 PM  Show Profile
I know this is silly but - I am so stinkin' proud of myself! I canned 10 quarts of string beans with my new (older) pressure canner. I was terrified of it! I was afraid it would explode if I didn't do things "just so". My husband, who was born and raised on a farm in a family of big-time farmers in Michigan, just laughed at me when I said I was afraid of it. I studied the instruction book for a couple of hours, and then dove in! I've canned before, mostly tomatoes, with a boiling-water bath canner; and I've frozen a lot of foods, but never used a pressure canner. All day today I was peeking in the pantry at the jars to make sure they were still sealed....... I am so goofy. But I am just tickled. I am a true farmer's wife now, I guess!

CherryMeDarlin
True Blue Farmgirl

602 Posts

Cherry
Odenville AL
USA
602 Posts

Posted - Jul 06 2009 :  5:57:46 PM  Show Profile
Yay, Hosanna! For what it's worth...I'm so stinkin' proud of you, too!!! I won't even attempt to can ANYthing until my grandmother has a day to give towards it so she can make sure I don't do anything that'll kill us all! Exploding pressure canners included!

~~Cherry~~

http://cherrymedarlin.blogspot.com

"A thing is as simple or as complicated as you make it." --TT Murphy
Go to Top of Page

AuntieM
True Blue Farmgirl

151 Posts

Marjorie
Holly Springs NC
USA
151 Posts

Posted - Jul 06 2009 :  6:53:56 PM  Show Profile
Yay Hosanna! I know just how you feel. The first time I used a pressure canner I practically hid behind a wall the whole time it was processing and cooling, and even then I was afraid to take the lid off! But my beans and pumpkin jars were sooooo beautiful, and so delicious throughout the winter.