Cindy Lee
True Blue Farmgirl

510 Posts

Cindy
Sparks Nevada
USA
510 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2009 :  08:33:58 AM  Show Profile
Ok, so now you know for sure that I am new at this canning stuff, but I have only my "farmgirl" friends to ask. So, here we go again! Yesterday I canned peaches and I was pretty disappointed with the way they turned out. First, I had a hard time getting the pit out so I manhandled the fruit a bit. Second, they shrank so that they floated too much. I tried hot and cold pack (cold pack because I thought it would be more gentle on the fruit.) Anyway, I sure would not win a prize at the fair with these peached. Although I am NOT that picky, I do want them to look nice! Do you have any tips? I think the main thing I am hoping for is for the fruit to look less beat up. Thanks SOOOO much! Cindy

gramadinah
True Blue Farmgirl

3557 Posts

Diana
Orofino ID
USA
3557 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2009 :  08:53:51 AM  Show Profile
Your fruit was just a tad over ripe or it was the type of peach. Some will lose the pit without even a try some will hold on to it and you do end up mangling the peach. You can really pack peaches in a jar I always use a wide mouth much easier. I have also frozen peaches treat them with lemon or citric acid and water lay a single layer on a cookie sheet and freeze and then when solid store in ziploc bags and just take out and use what you need.

Diana

Farmgirl Sister #273

Edited by - gramadinah on Jul 01 2009 10:24:12 AM
Go to Top of Page

1badmamawolf
True Blue Farmgirl

2199 Posts

Teresa
"Bent Fence Farms" Ca
USA
2199 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2009 :  09:17:18 AM  Show Profile
Are you blanching first? Are you cutting in slices, if so , it should be easy to pit them then. Wide mouth jars are a must with peaches, and you pack them fairly tight, then add liquid to the top and seal.

"Treat the earth well, it was not given to you by your parents, it was loaned to you by your children"
Go to Top of Page

Sheep Mom 2
True Blue Farmgirl