Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Spinners here? Next Topic  

MullersLaneFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

596 Posts

Rock Falls IL
596 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2006 :  1:16:07 PM  Show Profile
Who here spins?? Do you use a drop spindle or wheel? (or both?)

Do you buy prepared roving/top or start with raw fleece (or both?)

Are you self-taught? Found someone to teach you? Belong to a guild?

How long have you been spinning?

What do you do with your yarn?

I started spinning about 8 years ago using drop spindles. I was finally able to spin fairly consistent singlges but didn't enjoy having to stop and wind on all the time. My husband bought me an Ashford Traveler for a wedding present 4 years ago (what a guy!). I took to the wheel like duck to the water. I'm self taught and I'm convinced I have an untraditional style of spinning, but it produces yarn I'm pleased with.

I will trade for prepared roving, but mostly buy/trade for raw wool.

I'm tickled over a trade I made a couple weeks ago - some lotion making supplies and milk soap for a dyed silk hankie (the lady I traded with also threw in dyed kid mohair top and raw silk ... My head still spins when I look at these fibers!

I'm excited about my latest yarn. It's the first time I combined two different fibers. It is 70% grey shetland and 30% blue dyed kid mohair. There is about 100 yards finished and more to spin up.

The carded fiber is to the right in this picture. The yarn on the spindle is being plied:

This is a closer shot of the spindle:

This is the same grey shetland spun by iteself:

Ol 'MacDonald has nothing on us!
http://www.mullerslanefarm.com

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2006 :  1:52:58 PM  Show Profile