Gaelic Gardener
True Blue Farmgirl

61 Posts

Kelly
Providence Rhode Island
USA
61 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2009 :  05:33:14 AM  Show Profile
Hi, my name is Kelly. I live in the city, but I love to garden -- organically of course! I have 2 kitties and thousands of worms -- who compost my edible garbage. I would love to have chickens but there are 3 seperate city ordinances against it. I'm an award-winning rosarian. I practice Winter Sowing and am always interested in seed swaps. I have a small plot of land that I devote to my Cottage Flower Garden but I "farm" from container-grown vegetables on my patio.

I'm an Early Childhood Educator -- subbing now -- looking for a classroom of my own. I'm actually considering relocating to New Orleans because they are desperate for teachers. Eventually I would like to have my own preschool -- organic farm-based -- incorporating the principles of The Edible Schoolyard and the "No Child Left Inside" Coalition.

I knit, scrapbook, paint and I'm a novice sewer/quilter. I love to travel, read and surf the net. I'm a level 2 Reiki practitioner. I collect vintage Fiesta Ware, vintage glass and ceramics, art deco jewelry, vintage perfume bottles and vanity items.

I look forward to learning a lot on this board! Take Care! -- Kelly

kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2009 :  07:35:58 AM  Show Profile
Welcome to the farm, Kelly. Sounds like you are on the right track. I saw something about the the edible schoolyard. I think it's a great idea. Get those kids outside and growing their food. That's the best way to learn and they are more likely to eat what they grow and harvest. I hope you do get your own place to do that yourself. What fun!

Kris

Turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you. Maori proverb
Go to Top of Page

ruralfarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

4309 Posts

Rene'
Prosser WA
USA
4309 Posts