Mumof3
True Blue Farmgirl

3890 Posts

Karin
Ellenwood GA
USA
3890 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2009 :  11:04:54 AM  Show Profile
Why is it that, when I am doing the best I can to conserve our $$ and making more things from scratch, that my family decides that store-bought is better?
Case in point, I have a freezer full of spaghetti sauce that I made this summer. It is light, delicious and perfect over pasta. Will they eat it? No. Why? Because it looks funny, doesn't taste right and isn't from a jar. Oh, wait! It is from a jar, just not one from the grocery store shelf.
Same goes for meals that I can make at a fraction of the cost from the prepared stuff and I still get grief. Aargh.
Okay, vent over. Does anyone else get this from their families or am I the only one? Really, I'm a good cook, a great cook in fact. But I am getting to the point where I don't want to cook anymore.
I am off to make myself an apple pie now. I am not sharing.

Karin

Farmgirl Sister
# 18 :)

www.perfectlittlemiracle.blogspot.com

FebruaryViolet
True Blue Farmgirl

4810 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4810 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2009 :  11:20:25 AM  Show Profile
This reminds me of when I was younger...everyone in my school ate Kraft (Blue box) mix macaroni and cheese, and my mom made homemade--with breadcrumbs on top, and the lovely 3 different cheeses...except I hated it. I refused to eat it. "Why can't we just have Kraft like evryone else?", I wailed.

Now, years later, I love that macaroni and cheese, and can't wait for her to make it. In fact, I make it myself--and my husband says, "why can't you just make Kraft?"

Give it a few years, and they'll be begging you for your spaghetti!

Enjoy that pie :)
Go to Top of Page

lisamarie508
True Blue Farmgirl

2648 Posts

Lisa
Idaho City ID
USA
2648 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2009 :  11:22:42 AM  Show Profile