Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic Name That Bug! Next Topic  

Rosemary
True Blue Farmgirl

1825 Posts

Virginia
USA
1825 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2008 :  7:24:05 PM  Show Profile
There are many of these bugs on my broccoli all of a sudden, all around the ready-to-harvest heads! Eeuuw! They all appear to be (ahem) traveling in pairs, making more of themselves, no doubt. They are roughly 1/4" to 3/8" long and when I todd them over the deer fence, it seems they can fly, but I wouldn't swear to it. Extra credit for good organic plans to get rid of them. They're making the leaves all bleachy and bumpy. I'm in Virginia, by the way, about 50 miles west of Washington, DC. I have never seen bugs like this before in 60 years of gardening. But then, this is my first year growing broccoli.

catscharm74
True Blue Farmgirl

4687 Posts

Heather
Texas
USA
4687 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2008 :  7:57:28 PM  Show Profile  Send catscharm74 a Yahoo! Message
Are they like potato beetles or something??? Maybe it is mating season...

Heather

Yee-Haw, I am a cowgirl!!!

FARMGIRL #90
Go to Top of Page

Tina Michelle
True Blue Farmgirl

6948 Posts

Tina
sunshine state FL
USA
6948 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2008 :  8:38:34 PM  Show Profile
it is known as a Harlequin Bug
these bugs are serious pests of cabbage and related cruciferous crops like broccoli, turnips, cauliflower, and mustard. Harlequin Bugs will suck the sap of cruciferous plants, causing the plants to wilt and die, and entire crops can be lost due to their actions.
--------------------
I looked up some info for you on how to get rid of them:

RE: Harlequin Beetles - How do I get rid of them!!
Brought to you by
Advertisement
clip this post email this post what is this?
see most clipped and recent clippings

* Posted by Mrs_B SA Aust (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 1, 04 at 22:25