TabithaLenox
True Blue Farmgirl

605 Posts

Kim
Gettysburg PA
USA
605 Posts

Posted - Apr 30 2008 :  07:19:47 AM  Show Profile
We're going to the Md Sheep & Wool Festival this weekend to buy wool and yarn but also to look at different breeds of sheep. My goal is to have a larger farm where I can raise sheep for wool!

I would love to hear from anyone who has sheep or knows about them and find out what breeds you love best! I have horses and mules but am a complete sheep newbie!

Kim

" Life's A Garden- Dig It! " Joe Dirt

windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4262 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4262 Posts

Posted - Apr 30 2008 :  07:48:41 AM  Show Profile
Kim, Have fun at the festival. I have two sheep, they are a border leicester, and shetland cross. They are easy to care for, but being pets, they can get into alot of trouble! Lately they have not been on my favorite list. I am just learning how to spin, and am going to tackle shearing this year. Glad I only have two!

Michele
Go to Top of Page

MullersLaneFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

596 Posts

Rock Falls IL
596 Posts

Posted - Apr 30 2008 :  08:46:12 AM  Show Profile
For spinning, my favorite is corriedale.

We don't keep fiber animals (even though I am a fiber art fanatic) although DH wants to.

I keep telling him we would have to get a couple of Corriedale and some Shetlands. Then we would have to sell the saddle horse so we would have enough pasture for the sheep.

Of course, I would have to add some Icelandic & Jacob and CVM, then the draft horses would have to be sold.

Let's just say that as I continued on, replacing our current livestock with sheep breeds, DH put his foot down when the milk cow would have to go.

I told him it was better we didn't start! Besides, I'd rather support other shepherdresses for my fiber.

Cyndi
Muller's Lane Farm http://www.mullerslanefarm.com
Go to Top of Page

TabithaLenox
True Blue Farmgirl

605 Posts

Kim
Gettysburg PA
USA
605 Posts