ajplmama
Farmgirl in Training

13 Posts

Alicia
Halifax Nova Scotia
Canada
13 Posts

Posted - Apr 15 2008 :  11:29:49 AM  Show Profile
I just introduced myself in another thread but I'm from Nova Scotia and newly situated on an old farm of about 100 acres. We have about 15 acres of hay fields and probably close to that much that would be easy to transform into pasture or hay. The rest is woodland or marsh. The wood was cut about 15 years ago so it has some nice regrowth but it is no longer a forest :(

My plan is to start producing more of our food. I have a lot of experience with animals but it has been a long time since I had any and then I lived at home with my parents. I originally thought I would start with a batch of dual purpose chickens that we could eat the males in the fall and keep the hens for egg laying. I may still start that way.

I really wanted a cow for milk and butter making but my 10 year old son has researched and saved his money for a Nubian goat. He's really into it and visits his goat for now until we get a barn or shed built. I'm thinking if he wants goats instead I'll try that first.

WE would also like to rais eour own pork. If I could avoid buying meat completely I would be very happy but that's not practical yet. I'm not sure if it wille ver happen. I'm sort of thinking that piglet won't be in the mix until next spring. Then the house wil be finished and barns built. This year is a whirlwind of activity!

EmmJay
True Blue Farmgirl

352 Posts

Mary Jane
Amherst Nova Scotia
Canada
352 Posts

Posted - Apr 15 2008 :  4:01:37 PM  Show Profile
Hi Alicia.....
I am Mary Jane and I am in Amherst, NS.....Not too far eh!
I hear everything about starting out. It takes time, and I am still working towards getting things situated. Our barn is going to be torn down this summer, and rebuilt.