Norskema
True Blue Farmgirl

98 Posts

Candace
Central Indiana Area
USA
98 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  03:10:17 AM  Show Profile  Send Norskema an AOL message
I'm so excited! I'll be able to order my chickens this spring but want some advice about dogs & cats around the chickens. I really want them to be able to roam around during the day but worry about loose dogs in the neighborhood. Our farm also came with a 'puppy-cat' (a cat who acts more like a dog) who is a very good hunter and I'm wondering if he might go after the chickens too. My own dogs include two terriers that will probably also want to chase them. Anyway, as a rookie, I thought you gals could offer some suggestions for avoiding disaster.

Thanks!

mrsmorgen
True Blue Farmgirl

146 Posts

morgen
coudersport pa
USA
146 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  06:48:22 AM  Show Profile
Oh gosh, I had the same concern and was thinking about it just last night. Our basset hound has killed a few kittens in the past and I am worried about my (future) ( march seems so far away) chickens. Thanks for asking Ill be waiting to see everyones answers.
Morgen in Pa

I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all..
laura ingalls wilder
Go to Top of Page

frannie
True Blue Farmgirl

2246 Posts

fran
bonham texas
USA
2246 Posts

Posted - Jan 17 2008 :  08:19:06 AM  Show Profile  Send frannie a Yahoo! Message
we have here at the farm, chickens, cats, dogs, and goats.
the only chicken that has ever been killed by a dog was from a visiting dog that was part lab. our dog is a pyrenes, so she protects all our animals because that is what she does.
i have never witnessed any problems between the cats and the chickens, i think the usual problem would be between the dog and chickens, and i think certain breeds would have the instinct to protect or attack the chickens.