knewslady
True Blue Farmgirl

555 Posts

Kathy
Russellville KY
USA
555 Posts

Posted - Jan 05 2008 :  09:21:57 AM  Show Profile
I really didn't know where to put this so I decided here would be as good as any place.
I have just about decided at the age of 53 to go back and get my college degree. The only problem is I have no desire to pursue my previous studies of Criminology and Journalism.
The two true loves of my life are art and reading.
Now, for my question, for those of you who are artists or have studied art, do you think art can be taught to someone or is it a natural talent.
I am by no means an artist, I paint some and have always dabbled but never enough to really show anything I do. But I cannot tell you how much I love art and was just wondering your perspective on the subject. I would really love to major in Lieterature and Art (this may be a midlife crisis thing here)
Thanks
Kathy

Lavendar fields dreamer
True Blue Farmgirl

1032 Posts

little monkeys mommy
washington
USA
1032 Posts

Posted - Jan 05 2008 :  10:36:58 AM  Show Profile
Honey if you love it go for it. If your passionate about it then it doesnt matter if you have a natural talent for it(although its helpful). i say go for your dreams and enjoy yourself.

lavendar girl
Go to Top of Page

lisamarie508
True Blue Farmgirl

2648 Posts

Lisa
Idaho City ID
USA
2648 Posts

Posted - Jan 05 2008 :  10:46:09 AM  Show Profile
I agree, Kathy. If you love it, go for it. You must have some kind of talent if you love it so much and while what we produce may not appeal to everybody, it certainly appeals to some. Take Picasso, for example. His work is highly sought after but I wouldn't want one. His work does not appeal to me in the least. Some folks like my work and some don't. It's all a matter of taste preferences.

Your age should have no factor in your decision. Some of us are simply late bloomers and it's never too late to pursue a dream. You go girl!

Farmgirl Sister #35