elah
True Blue Farmgirl

349 Posts

Emily
SW Michigan
USA
349 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2007 :  05:59:16 AM  Show Profile
I'm new to the northern gardening thing. What should I be doing now to my garden so that I will have a nice garden in the spring. I do have asparagus and winter onions. Is there anything special for them? Do you just leave your compost piles be in the winter? What do you do with your kitchen compost items in the winter? Just trek through the snow to get to the pile? Should I be mulching over spring bulbs? If so do I uncover them in the spring?
I'm really green when it comes to this part of gardening. We just moved to Michigan in late February so I have not had to deal with the winter prepping stuff. There was already a couple feet of snow on the ground when we got here!
Thanks!
Emily

ddmashayekhi
True Blue Farmgirl

4738 Posts

Dawn
Naperville Illinois
USA
4738 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2007 :  7:35:56 PM  Show Profile
Welcome to the Midwest Emily. I live just southwest of Chicago. We've been super warm here, so I haven't begun preparing for winter yet. Once we do get a frost, I'll clear out all the annuals that got zapped. I put them in my compost heap & every once in awhile, we go out there & turn it over a bit. Once you've had a few frosts, it's a good idea to mound up roses and mulch over perennials. It's always a good idea to put mulch over all your beds. Most of it will break down by spring time. I don't use kitchen garbage in my compost heap, don't want to attract any little furry critters if I can help it. I'm not sure what to do about asparagus & onions, maybe someone else can help you with that.

Enjoy your autumn!
Dawn in IL
Go to Top of Page

brightmeadow
True Blue Farmgirl

2045 Posts

Brenda
Lucas Ohio
USA
2045 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2007 :  8:35:19 PM  Show Profile