windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4188 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4188 Posts

Posted - Sep 29 2007 :  04:44:32 AM  Show Profile
I don't know what went so wrong, but I have sure ended up with a mess. Help!! I spent alot of hours picking 2 fleeces, and I washed the white yesterday. I could not believe how many little tiny pieces of hay and what ever is still in the wool. It came out super white and nice, but still so dirty. I never feed over the top of the sheep, and I am thinking of making blankets for them.
I have only 2. Is this normal for fleece, or did I do something majorly wrong? Since this is my first time working with the wool, I don't know if I am doing anything right or not. The other fleece is black, and actually I wasted alot more of that, cause it was so full of stuff, I got defeated!!! I also did not quite understand the skirting process, and probely saved too much of the white fleece. Hated to waste it, at the time. Live and learn I hope. Any suggestions would be appreciated, as I feel like I am stumbling round in the dark right now. Will carding the wool take out more of the little tiny pieces of chaff? One thing the white wool, is so nice and pretty after washing ( the color anyways ). Thanks

feeling defeated Michele

ktknits
True Blue Farmgirl

582 Posts

Kathy
Northwest Indiana
USA
582 Posts

Posted - Sep 29 2007 :  05:33:02 AM  Show Profile
Oh Michele, don't feel bad! Yes, carding will take some of it out, and you'll just have to be more careful and spin slower to take more of it out then. (and you'll probably be picking it out as you knit too!)