True Blue Farmgirl

56 Posts

Anastasia
Telkwa BC
Canada
56 Posts

Posted - Jul 27 2005 :  8:01:21 PM  Show Profile
Hi everyone!

My name's Anastasia and I have 160 acres near Smithers, BC...about a 14 hour drive north of Vancouver. I'm sharing this place with two dogs, two cats, two horses, a llama and a goat. Hoping my horse is pregnant and to get more goats in the fall.

Originally a city girl (Vancouver). Heard about Mary Jane in a magazine not too long ago, then found the latest issue on a newsstand in town, just before leaving to work near the Arctic Ocean. The tough thing about hobby farming and rebuilding a house in an isolated area is having to work away from home so that you can live there! I'm a geologist by training, exploring for gold 750km north of Yellowknife. Ya'll will need an atlas to find me!!!

I'm great with animals, not so good with plants, but am hoping to get some inspiration from folks on this list. I love the magazine...it's been so wonderful to read so much that will help me out, that speaks to my heart, that encourages me to keep going with the home that I love. I've been there for three years, love the privacy and the quiet, the wildlife that wanders past my doors, the powdery snow and the wild roses that cover my land.

Enough about me, or this will become a novel! Have been writing a bit, too, have published a few articles about heritage turkeys and living off the grid. Fun stuff! Time to go and search the archives, see who's here and what's going on.

Thank you all for being here. I feel like I've found a new...family.

Cheers,
Anastasia

"Speciality is for insects." -Robert Heinlen

Clare
True Blue Farmgirl

2173 Posts

NC WA State
USA
2173 Posts

Posted - Jul 27 2005 :  8:14:25 PM  Show Profile