Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 I need help rag quilting!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic I need help rag quilting! Next Topic  

junebug
True Blue Farmgirl

2421 Posts

Sue
West Plains, Mo.
USA
2421 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2005 :  12:15:44 PM  Show Profile
Does anyone here rag quilt? I'm a self taught quilter who just had a second grand baby last weekend with another one due this fall, and I wanted to learn to make each a rag quilt, can anyone suggest a good book to learn from? They seem easy enough but I learn better one on one either by book or taught. Sure would appreacite any ideas? Thank you!! Junebug ( Sisterhood of the Traveling art)

I'm not 40 something, I'm 39.95 plus shipping and handling!

pennyfour
Farmgirl in Training

27 Posts

USA
27 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2005 :  12:23:04 PM  Show Profile
Hi Junebug,

What is rag quilting? Sounds interesting. Thanks in advance for sharing. Pennyfour
Go to Top of Page

junebug
True Blue Farmgirl

2421 Posts

Sue
West Plains, Mo.
USA
2421 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2005 :  12:41:11 PM  Show Profile
Its where the ends to any pattern, but I've only seen sqaures, are fraied? I hope I spelled it right?

Go to Top of Page

pennyfour
Farmgirl in Training

27 Posts

USA
27 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2005 :  1:32:44 PM  Show Profile
Junebug:

I think I have seen this type of quilt before. They were made of flannel squares that were pieced together, the seam allowances clipped in intervals, and then upon washing and drying the seams became ragged. Would this be a rag quilt? If so, I purchased a Simplicity pattern (No. 4993) to try out. There are three quilts one can make that are in the shape of a cat, dog, or teddy bear. They look pretty cute but I have not attempted one yet. Think I'll try in the fall/winter when it's a little cooler around here to work with flannel! Pennyfour