25 Posts

kate
memphis tennessee
USA
25 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2007 :  7:04:29 PM  Show Profile
Hi there gals,
my name is Kate and I'm new to this chat thing and to Mary Janes Farm
I introduced myself on the welcome wagon forum so I wont bore ya'll with that again.
I am planning an outpost outing/experiment soon - probably mid Sept or Oct.
I'm going to see how I make out living in my back yard for a month.
I live in a fairly nice middle-upper income neighborhood in Memphis, Tennessee (as a matter of fact there are homes a few blocks away in the $million range - NOT MINE!) My yard is small but faily private. I have a some nice spots in my backyard garden with veggies and will be putting in my fall garden soon.

My rules: (so far - they may get altered before I actually get started)
1. No electricity
2. No running water (don't have a well so I've got a couple of compromises on this one)
3. Can purchase food stuffs at the grocery, but they have to be non-processed foods (organic if possible)
4. Transportation limited to walking or bicycling (occasional use of my tiny Honda scooter

Part of the challenge is to maintain my 10:00 am - 5:00 p.m. job at an upscale invitation/stationery/gift store in suburbia. Where I have to dress nice and smell good and look decent to help all those city ladies choose which pretty invitation to use for their "Cocktail Supper" at the Hunt and Polo Club.

I've got my list of substitutionery power sources (pretty basic: candles, wood stove and plumbing substitutes also.
I've been praciticing with limited water consumption and use of electricity.

Should be fun.

I'll let you know how my plans are coming.

I did buy a nice enamel wash basin and a wash board for laundry.
I'm putting up my clothesline this week end and am going to test out the flat iron. I gotta be able to look nice and have my linen shirts pressed when I go to work. I'll let you know how that goes.

Later,
Kate

Kate, the closet farmgirl

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts