Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 Does anyone do Felting?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Does anyone do Felting? Next Topic  

Lena@HickoryGroveFarm
Farmgirl in Training

33 Posts

Marlena
Brunson SC
USA
33 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2005 :  09:59:14 AM  Show Profile
I am new to the process of felting, and it looks like the perfect fiber art for me! Basically the way it works is carded wool is laid down in layers, wet with soapy water, and agitated until it forms a "skin." Then you agitate it some more, and it turns into felt, which you can make into hats, scarves, jackets, and even "paintings" of a sort. Rugs, toys, sculpture? Anything goes.
I'd love to talk with anyone who knows about this craft.
Just as an aside, most felters use a glass washboard for the agitation, some use a bamboo mat, but I saw a woman on HGTV who used a sander! She used linoleum in place of sand paper, and this looks like the method for me. Faster is better where I'm concerned.
Looking forward to talking with experienced felters or newbies like me!
Lena

Budding Farm Girl and Eccentric Artist
see www.marlenam.com

bubblesnz
True Blue Farmgirl

291 Posts

helen

New Zealand
291 Posts

Posted - Jul 22 2005 :  4:41:35 PM  Show Profile
Hiya, you can chat to me I do this.. Becareful, if you are going to get into this, it is very addictiive :)

A great oak, is just a little nut which held it's ground.
Go to Top of Page

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Jul 22 2005 :  5:56:15 PM  Show Profile
this is something I have been meaning to do also! I have a couple books and lots of wool so I will try to do some this winter for sure.!!

Jenny in Utah
The best things in life arn't things!
Go to Top of Page

Lena@HickoryGroveFarm
Farmgirl in Training

33 Posts

Marlena
Brunson SC
USA
33 Posts