Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Entrepreneurship
 Piggy Bank for Grownup Farmgirls?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Entrepreneurship: Previous Topic Piggy Bank for Grownup Farmgirls? Next Topic  

Rosemary
True Blue Farmgirl

1825 Posts

Virginia
USA
1825 Posts

Posted - Jul 24 2007 :  2:33:48 PM  Show Profile
Didn't know where else to put this post, but I figure entrpreneurial farmgirls would know best!

I have a nice little settlement coming my way from a personal injury lawsuit I initiated against a certain big-box retail store that I'm sure I shouldn't name until the check clears. I'm thinking of using some of it to try investing in a money market fund that will allow a fairly small minimum investment for the cowardly. I've never done anything like that before, but at age 59 and counting, I think maybe it's time to give it a shot!

What do you gals think about this sorta thing? Ever tried it yourself? Any advice on how to get started?

Edited by - Rosemary on Jul 24 2007 2:43:01 PM

therusticcottage
True Blue Farmgirl

4439 Posts

Kay
Vancouver WA
USA
4439 Posts

Posted - Jul 24 2007 :  5:28:02 PM  Show Profile
Rosemary -- my best advice would be to contact a financial advisor that your trust or go to your bank. A money market might not be the best because they're not paying much right now. We're fairly close in age and our financial advisor said we're better off being more on the conservative side of things. Why not check into a CD? If you don't need the money to be liquid then you could probably get a pretty good rate on a longer term CD.

http://therusticcottage.blogspot.com

http://cottageramblings.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

Tracey
True Blue Farmgirl

766 Posts

Tracey
State of Confusion
USA
766 Posts

Posted - Jul 24 2007 :  6:31:48 PM  Show Profile
Oh, golly, I've no clue...but congrats on getting a wee bit of $$ in your pocket (too bad it happened at the expense of an injury!)