Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Across the Fence
 Some advice, please-re: volunteer work at VA
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Across the Fence: Previous Topic Some advice, please-re: volunteer work at VA Next Topic  

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2007 :  1:08:28 PM  Show Profile
So, I've been volunteering for about 2 months at our VA nursing facility and hospital, visiting with the patients, talking, reading, just general company keeping. Initially, the social worker thought I would be a great fit with an elderly resident who is 84, a paranoid schizophreniz who also suffers with bi-polar disorder. He was a classicaly trained pianist, and still plays, but has no family, save a sister in San Francisco who is equally as old and doesn't travel much--because my background is in ballet, and I understand "creative" types, she thought it would work. He's dying of inoperable cancer, but they don't know what type because he won't let them take blood samples or something....So, I visited him the first time, and he ignored me--actually, he turned his back on me and proceeded to babble. I came back the next Tuesday and he turned his back on me again, and it seemed like my presence was doing more harm than good. Each Tuesday it has been like this, and I've consulted the social worker each time, advising her of his disposition. Turns out, he says I'm "too short", that he likes taller women (which made me laugh, but last time I checked, I wasn't there for his visual pleasure). So, his sister has made it into town, because she's been advised of his precarious health, and the social worker is INSISTENT that I meet with her to discuss "approach" with this gentleman, so that he WILL talk with me, and have someone to visit with. I have to be honest, I feel like I'm wasting my time--there are PLENTY of other vets to visit with there who don't ha