lamarguerite farm
True Blue Farmgirl

649 Posts

missy
Battle Ground Wa
USA
649 Posts

Posted - Jul 17 2005 :  9:19:05 PM  Show Profile
Hi! My name is Missy and I found Mary Jane's book through my home and garden book club. I fell in love with it and shared it with my Mom and she requested a farm girl chapter kit. There are 5 of us who get together right now and we all treasure the time we spend together.

My husband and I rent a home on five acres and have three children ages 17,12,& 6. I worked as an Internal Med. nurse for three years and then was able to fulfill my dream of having my own store. The name was LaMarguerite and I sold cottage, antiques and salvage decor. I did most of my own fixing up and refinishing with the help of my husband. About 1 1/2 years into it I developed health issues and the business was struggling as well. It was hard to let it go but the Lord has blessed me with appreciation for peacefullness in my life and I have become more centered in my life than I have ever been. Financial reasons forced us to live in the house we are in right now, but we have a landlord that really likes us and lets us do pretty much anything we want with the property.

I'm still not able to work full time outside the home, but my husband and I have started raising chickens and ducks for eggs, and we are currently building a green house from salvaged material to grow and sell herbs. Hopefully next spring the eggs and herbs will bring in a little extra income.

I'm so excited to connect with other women who are new to this whole farm thing like I am and also gain knowledge from those who are more experienced that I am. I love getting excited about knew things and being able to share the experience with someone.