Printer Friendly
Author **Welcome Wagon: Previous Topic City Farmgirl Next Topic  

citygoatlady
True Blue Farmgirl

82 Posts

82 Posts

Posted - Jul 05 2005 :  9:56:02 PM  Show Profile
Hi,
I live in a midwestern city of 2 million people, and I have been raising dairy goats, and chickens, since 1991. We have 2/3 acre total. Sometimes I look around and realize how utterly different my daily life is than my neighbors, or the parents of my kid's friends at school. For instance, I have the reputation of being someone who, when you visit, you never know what could be happening! Dehorning goats, pulling down cabinets, butchering a chicken!

Sometimes this life feels kind of lonely, too, since my farming friends mostly live miles away. But taking care of the animals and plants, learning from them every day, showing my kids and other interested people year after year, that all seems so normal, substantial, and absorbing.

I started farming here because this is where we live. There was no point to waiting till "someday out in the country." And, although I had lived on a lot of other people's farms over the years, when I started this I really did not have the daily habits nor skills involved in farming. So I thought I'd see if I could fill every foot of this yard, while gaining the farming habits needed, and then maybe move to a larger place someday.

Well, I definitely have the habits and skills, and I haven't filled all the land yet. And when I was ready to move a couple years ago, my growing and uninterested family and husband refused. So, some projects, I can't do, like haying on a large scale, or growing more than a few rows of field crops. At least not on our own land.