lisamarie508
True Blue Farmgirl

2648 Posts

Lisa
Idaho City ID
USA
2648 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2007 :  3:45:52 PM  Show Profile
I have 3 dogs and half of my back yard is UGLY. The other half is my veggie garden and a grassy area with a stream and pond. This area is fenced off from the dogs to keep it nice. The other half (closest to the house) looks like high mountain desert: rocks, clay and weeds. I just can't bring myself to lock my dogs up in anything smaller. Any kind of paving would be too hot in the summer; planting trees back to shade it would get in the way when we drive our loads of firewood back to the shed. Lumber and fake turf are just too expensive. Is there any kind of ground cover that could hold up to 3 dogs and what they leave behind? Would any of you gals have some other idea? I've been wracking my brain over this dilemma for 2 years now. This half of my back yard is an embarrassment. Help!

We come from Nature, we go back to Nature; health & happiness in between requires intimacy with Nature.

MariaAZ
True Blue Farmgirl

203 Posts

Phoenix AZ
203 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2007 :  5:21:07 PM  Show Profile
What about using one of those canvas-over-steel-pole portable garages to provide shade, then pave the area with stepping stones? You might have to deal with anchoring it against weather, but I believe they come with instructions. Our dog run is paved using those one-foot-square pavers and they work pretty well. Although we have trees in their runs, we have also used canvas covers and the beauty is that they can be moved or taken down when necessary.

Visit my blog at www.craftyfool.net
Go to Top of Page

_Rebecca_
True Blue Farmgirl

568 Posts

Rebecca
OK
USA
568 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2007 :  6:22:59 PM  Show Profile