Caron
True Blue Farmgirl

107 Posts

Caron
Orange Texas
USA
107 Posts

Posted - Sep 08 2009 :  10:01:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a total newbie to sewing. I had a Kemore for years that was always eating up the fabric, so finally I saved up and got a new machine. I looked lots of them over, then bought a Viking. Now that I've done that, the store that carries the Viking machines, accessories, etc. dropped the Viking line (thanks so much).
Not only that, I'm a little intimidated by that fancy machine. So, I'm thinking of buying a beginner-friendly Brother machine. It's easy, simple and I know it won't last years and years like a more well-built machine but will last until I feel comfortable in my sewing.
"Sew", I hope to be sewing soon!

Caron
Mama Hen

"Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, the King of creation."

Farmgirl Sister #254

ruralfarmgirl
Sisterhood Coodinator

277 Posts

René
Prosser WA
USA
277 Posts

Posted - Sep 12 2009 :  08:25:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Boy Caron, I love the simple ones. I have my grandma's old Singer. It has a straight stitch and that is all. I use it the most. I do have an old Kenmore that has zig zag and I go to it when I need too. But, for me the simpler the better.

Rene~Prosser Farmgirl #185

Circumstances made us friends, MaryJanes has made us sisters....

www.maryjanesfarm.org/RFBlog/
www.farmgirlsfarm.blogspot.com
www.ruralfarmgirl.blogspot.com
www.ruralandraw.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

Caron
True Blue Farmgirl

107 Posts

Caron
Orange Texas
USA
107 Posts

Posted - Sep 12 2009 :  11:30:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote