dmiller2003
Farmgirl at Heart

3 Posts

Deana
Denton Texas
USA
3 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2009 :  5:48:24 PM  Show Profile
This is my first time to do a starter. Started last wed. and followed instructions and the starter was super thick. I never noticed bubbling and it doesn't look anything like the pics I saw of the other starters here. I started a new one today and it still seems a little thick. Could I be doing something wrong? I use well water and KA organic white flour, the brown and white package.
Go to Top of Page

willowtreecreek
True Blue Farmgirl

4813 Posts

Julie
Russell AR
USA
4813 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2009 :  6:05:22 PM  Show Profile
It will get thinner and more bubbly as time goes on. Give it time to work it's magic!

Farmgirl Sister #17
Blog
www.willowtreecreek.wordpress.com
Go to Top of Page

gardenmaam
Farmgirl in Training

27 Posts

Cathy
Moreno Valley CA
USA
27 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2009 :  7:45:23 PM  Show Profile  Send gardenmaam a Yahoo! Message
Alee-Yes, you're right-it is a small round loaf I want to make to hollow out the inside and serve clam chowder in....individual size is what I am looking to do. Did you get to try the bowl/bread recipe?

Ronna-thanks for info on Sunset Mags SF Sourdough-saw recipe on pg. 13 of this topic (thanks) and will try that next week for the bread/bowl. I did butter my baked loaf when it got out of oven...but it was still quite a bit crunchy. After cooled - I put in plastic zip bag to keep moist and soft. I think it just may be the nature of this bread, huh? The Farmhouse recipe is what I've used.

Kelly - I have used a glass loaf pan; turning oven temp down 25 degrees. I used parchment paper and buttered it and it worked just great.
Go to Top of Page

kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Feb 11 2009 :  07:30:23 AM  Show Profile