brookerene
Farmgirl in Training

11 Posts

Brooke
O'Neill NE
USA
11 Posts

Posted - Feb 23 2007 :  2:57:41 PM  Show Profile
I'm new to this sight and therefore haven't explore the depths of its topics, but I was wondering how you all market your farm. Do any of you sell through websights, sell on the commodity market, farmers markets, etc? Where I live most of the farmers are conventional farmers. Also, we are far enough from a large population center that I would like to know what other women are doing to keep their farms viable in similar situations. So many farms here are not passing to the next generation and we want to preserve our farm by making it marketable/profitable - to keep for our three children. It's a struggle to be creative at times. Any guidance to other posts or general recomendations or tips etc are welcome. Sharing things can help preserve so much that would be lost otherwise. Also, are any of you doing any form of agri-tourism and what has it taken to make a go of it? Thanks.
Thanks,
Brooke

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Feb 23 2007 :  4:07:20 PM  Show Profile
I sell some hand crafted items at my etsy site, but as for farm products, I just have extra milk and eggs..I barter or sell them to friends and relatives. I could have sold the fresh raw milk from 10 cows this last summer if I had it! (I only have one sweet Jersey cow) I live in a very small town in a rural area....but I do hae neighbors and all...not the same as your situation..I hope someone is more help than me. Do you have have MaryJane's book??? It has alot of ideas for the agri tourism sort of thing (if you havn't seen it..it is described on the main page..go to the HOME and click at that and then click on the MaryJane's farm logo on the page it takes you to..it is in most libraries now too.

Jenny in Utah
Inside me there is a skinny woman crying to get out...but I can usually shut her up with cookies