sewgirlie
True Blue Farmgirl

1894 Posts

Sheryl-lyn
Calverton NY
USA
1894 Posts

Posted - Jan 01 2007 :  09:19:50 AM  Show Profile
Hi! I love to make bread and have been thinking about getting a bread machine (they seem to be fairly cheap at Walmart!) Is it worth having if we like fresh bread a few times a week (I work full-time as a teacher and then part time at a learning center). If I had the machine, maybe I would make it during the week too. What do you think? Do you use yours?

Thanks for helping me decide!!

XXOO Sheryl-lyn

Horseyrider
True Blue Farmgirl

1045 Posts

Mary Ann
Illinois
1045 Posts

Posted - Jan 01 2007 :  09:30:56 AM  Show Profile
I don't use mine, although I liked it well enough. It didn't make enough bread, the loaf was round, and I was annoyed by that little paddle in the bottom leaving a mark. And then I stupidly gave my instructions to an acquaintance who had lost hers, and then we lost touch. I haven't had them for years.

I do make my own with my KitchenAid mixer. Is it something you could do on weekends? If I couldn't do it like that anymore, I'd go get one of those that makes a big rectangular loaf. To me, there's just about nothing you can buy that's as good as your own home baked bread, made exactly as you like it.
Go to Top of Page

happymama58
True Blue Farmgirl

1210 Posts

Patti
Missouri
USA
1210 Posts

Posted - Jan 01 2007 :  10:14:14 AM  Show Profile
I have a breadmaker, but I spent a few extra bucks and got the one that made regular-shaped loaves with the option of 2 sizes and quite a few other options, some of which I used and some I doubt I ever will. The bread is fantastic, and I made bread about once a week until we moved into the camper while we built our house. I'm looking forward to getting mine back out of storage.