Page: of 2

goodmojo
Farmgirl in Training

11 Posts

Yarmouth MA
11 Posts

Posted - May 22 2005 :  10:27:21 AM  Show Profile
Hi Farmgirls!

I was wondering if anyone else uses Dr. Bronner's Castille Peppermint soap for anything? I have been using it for about 20 years or so and use it for almost anything - general cleanup,
laundry, shampoo, you could even brush your teeth with it, but that idea has never appealed to me! My latest favorite is the Lavender,
it's very lightly scented and it organic. I love it, especially as a shampoo.

Are there any other organic soap type cleansers that have an all around purpose that you know of?

Happy Farming!
goodmojo

I came to this planet for the french roast, and the chocolate, of course.....

BlueEggBabe
True Blue Farmgirl

417 Posts

Susan
PA
417 Posts

Posted - May 22 2005 :  10:53:38 AM  Show Profile
Bronner's is THE classic.........have you ever sat down and read the whole label? Wow! Alot of philosophy for a plain and simple soap!
The little bottles really come in handy on a camping trip. I especially like the lavender too.
The question that I always wonder is what makes castille soap castille soap?
By the looks of the ingredients, It is made with saponified oils (lye and oil)
but wondering about the meaning of castille, I suppose.Does anyone know?

"If more of us valued good food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world."
J.J.R.Tolkien
Go to Top of Page

MeadowLark
True Blue Farmgirl

2206 Posts

USA
2206 Posts

Posted - May 22 2005 :  10:56:39 AM  Show Profile
Goodmojo, Yes I have used Dr.Bronner's peppermint soap! I first tried it as a college student 30 years (yikes its been THAT long) ago. I used it for a facial cleanser and remember it left the skin very soft and clean. I remember all the uses and ancedotes printed on the label. I have a hard time finding it now... Our health food stores don't carry it where I live...but I still remember that peppermint fragrance.