Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 Why won't my Chickens use metal nesting boxes
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Why won't my Chickens use metal nesting boxes Next Topic  

quiltee
True Blue Farmgirl

7533 Posts

Linda
Terrell TX
USA
7533 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2014 :  08:58:26 AM  Show Profile  Send quiltee a Yahoo! Message
HELP! I'm fairly new to chickens, just got my place in the country 4 years ago. I have 3 chickens that I got as chicks in the spring to help with the heavy grasshopper problem - and they did help a lot. They are housed in an 8x8 shed and there are shelves in the shed with a board as a ramp that they use. This fall I bought a used metal 4-box nesting box and the chickens won't use it at all. It is raised about 8 inches off the floor of the shed. Is there a trick to this? I put hay in the boxes.

Plus the chickens STILL seem to like to roost on my porch rocking chairs and table, making a mess of the porch. Is there anything that will deter the chickens from using the porch?

Thanks!

Farmgirl hugs,
Linda O
Lone Oak, TX
Farmgirl #1919

hudsonsinaf
True Blue Farmgirl

3162 Posts

Shannon
Rozet Wyoming
USA
3162 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2014 :  09:30:22 AM  Show Profile
I too am fairly new to chickens, so i doubt I will be much help.... but I've been told if you put golf balls in a nesting box, they will brood over them and eventually lay their eggs in there. I know my cousin used that trick when her chickens kept laying in the same nesting box and they would fight over it, lol. Oh to know what chickens are thinking!!!

~ Shannon

http://hudson-everydayblessings.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

oldbittyhen
True Blue Farmgirl

1511 Posts

tina
quartz hill ca
USA
1511 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2014 :  09:51:02 AM  Show Profile